Muses by Tom


It’s not ironic, it’s obvious

Posted in Entertainment,Music by Tom on February 22, 2010
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Man. So. I have to say, while this week is definitely as stressful as I knew it would be, I haven’t been that stressed yet. Keyword: yet. I know I still have so much to get done but I’m surprisingly chill about it. I don’t know whether this is a good thing or a bad thing. We shall see in time, I suppose.

So it turns out I have to write a paper in the coming week on the role the media takes as the scapegoat to everything. Whenever someone kills someone or does something socially unacceptable, everyone blames the music they listen to, the movies that are popular at the time, video games, and everything. While some of the time this may be the case, I refuse to believe the media is to blame as much as people argue. If you have a different opinion, that’s cool. You can comment me and express your opinion, tell me I’m wrong, whatever, but my opinion on this matter is set in stone and will never change. The media, specifically music, is an easy target and anyone can point their finger without any viable evidence. How about we start looking at people’s psychological and sociological health before attacking the music they listen to? I listen to everything, even Norwegian black metal. Yes, I know this genre actually does have some legit responsibility for violent acts and vandalism. I manage to listen to Norwegian black metal bands, though, and still go to church on Sunday morning without having any ounce of desire to burn it down. You may say that’s hypocritical, but I may say you’re wrong. Just because somebody listens to whatever genre of music, that doesn’t mean anything. What about all these pop songs about people in love with broken hearts? Should we start dehumanizing pop stars for leading heartbroken kids to suicide? If somebody has a pre-existing condition and claims the music made them do it then okay, I can meet you half way there but don’t just lash out at the closest, easiest thing you can. My argument probably isn’t as strong here as it was when I first started this entry but that’s because I’m distracted and way tired. It’s food for thought, nonetheless.

That’s all I have for now so, bye.

Leave a Reply

