Muses by Tom


Pierce the Veil step it up

Posted in Music,Reviews by Tom on June 24, 2010
Tags: , , ,

I must admit, I wasn’t too ecstatic about Pierce The Veil‘s debut (sort of) release, A Flair for the Dramatic. Don’t get me wrong, it was a good album and made it onto my iPod.  The only problem I had was that it didn’t really stand out to me or strike me as new and original. I’d heard that sound before a hundred times and it had just been used so much.  There was nothing fresh or inspiring going on, in my opinion.

With all that in mind, things definitely changed with the release of their newest album, Selfish Machines. I had heard that this album was going to be a lot different but I didn’t pay much attention. After all, every band says that about every release.  I am glad to admit that I was proven wrong. I decided to give PtV the benefit of the doubt and give Selfish Machines a listen.  All I can say is I’m glad that I did.

From the album’s introduction with Besitos until the last note on The Sky Under the Sea, the album’s closer, one can immediately notice the regime change. While you can undeniably tell it’s still PtV, there is just a completely new sound to the record.  Every track on this album demands attention with its uniquely dynamic structure.  PtV have clearly experimented a lot and matured a great deal in between the two albums and it shows. The brothers Fuentes are on their game full force. Vic’s vocals sound great and renewed with both his screaming and clean vocals, while Mike’s drumming is right where it needs to be. The songs are catchy–even on first listen–and there is a sense of cleanliness about each track.

I have a feeling I’m going to have this album on repeat for a while. Selfish Machines is a much needed step in the right direction and shows that Pierce the Veil do, in fact, stand out among other bands. Some tracks do have a Chiodos-esque feel to them with the synthesizers and Vic’s voice, but they still maintain their originality. Well done, I say. I highly recommend you give this record a listen.

One Response to 'Pierce the Veil step it up'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Pierce the Veil step it up'.

  1. Manny Lamb said,

    Lots of music talk here lately, what else do you have?


Leave a Reply

